Beeghly College of Education honors 7 with alumni awards

Published: Mon, May 11, 2015 @ 12:00 a.m.

Staff report


Youngstown State University’s Beeghly College of Education honored outstanding graduates at the 13th BCOE Alumni Awards Dinner last week.

Matthew Manley, director of professional development and principal at West Branch Middle School/Damascus Elementary, received the administrator award. His career began at Ashtabula High School as a special education teacher. He was assistant principal and principal for the Canfield School District, and also job training coordinator at the Trumbull County Career and Technical Center, where he received the Ohio Special Educator of the Year award. At Choffin Career Center, he started a vocational program for formerly incarcerated students returning to the Youngstown City Schools.

Francine Packard, clinical director at Trumbull County Children Services and a guest lecturer and adjunct faculty member at YSU, is this year’s winner in the counselor category. She was appointed by the Governor to the Ohio Counselor, Social Worker, Marriage and Family Therapist Regulatory Board, has provided crisis debriefing to Warren City Schools and has provided site supervision for YSU counseling students at multiple agencies.

The educator award goes to Carol Ann Zink, who has been an educator with the Lincoln, Neb., Public Schools for most of her professional life. Zink’s many professional and achievement awards include 1970 Frieda Chapman Outstanding Student Teacher Award, 1987 Radio Station KFOR Teacher of the Month, 1991 Betsy Ross Outstanding Member Award, 2004 Department of the Army Outstanding Civilian Service Medal, 2005 Nebraska National Guard “Molly Pitcher” Award, 2005 East Lincoln Rotary Club Teacher of the Month and 2008 Secretary of the Army Outstanding Service Award and Medal.

Kathleen Nogay is this year’s honoree for Lifetime Educational Service. Nogay, retired superintendent of Slippery Rock Area Schools, is a Youngstown native and graduate of Mount Union College. She also worked as assistant principal of Hubbard High School, taught biology and chemistry in Sebring schools and was principal of Hickory High School in Hermitage, Pa. She was a graduate of the first doctoral cohort at YSU.

Betty Greene receives the Diversity Award. She was a classroom teacher for 11 years, regional director for the Ohio State University Young Scholars Program for two years and building administrator (principal) for 12 years in Middletown, Ohio schools. She finished her P-12 career in Youngstown City Schools, concluding her leadership responsibilities there with six years as central office supervisor. As a faculty member at YSU, she serves as course instructor and student teaching supervisor. For the past five years, she has maintained her connection with Youngstown City Schools by serving as a member of the local Academic Distress Commission.

Robert Beebe and Connie Hathorn each receive the Dean’s Appreciation Award.

Beebe began his career as a third-grade teacher in Schenectady, N.Y. After his Army service in the Adjutant General Corps, he undertook graduate study in education and assumed administrative positions as assistant elementary principal, then acting principal, in Charles City County, Va. He entered university work as an assistant professor at the University of Mississippi, where he was one of the two initial recipients of the Burlington-Northern Foundation Faculty Achievement Award for his teaching and scholarship. He was also honored twice with the Kappa Delta Pi Teacher of the Year Award. His appointment as professor and chairman of Educational Administration at YSU charged him with establishing and staffing a newly created department that would offer degree and licensure programs in educational administration, and to develop, defend and inaugurate a doctoral program in educational leadership, the first doctoral program at the university. He served in this capacity for more than six years, returned to full-time faculty status for five years, and then returned to the position of chairman, which he had for five years. He has twice received YSU’s Watson Merit Award for department chairmen, and has been the recipient of the Chairperson’s Leadership Award.

Hathorn has been superintendent of the Youngstown City Schools since 2011. A native of Mississippi, Hathorn earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and a master’s degree at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville. He became an assistant principal, and then went on to Iowa State University, where he completed a doctoral degree. He was a high-school principal in Darlington, S.C., and moved to Akron in 1991, where he served in a variety of district leadership roles.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.